Fundamental Philosophy of Ayurveda

There are six fundamental systems of philosophy derived from the Vedas, often referred to as Shatdarshana. The word Shat in Sanskrit translates to six and darshaana which is philosophy or understanding. The six systems include Snkhya, Nayaya, Vaisheshika, Yogadarshana, Mimamsa, and Vedanta. They are considered the most important theories derived from the Vedic texts.

Sankhya derived from ‘sat’  meaning truth and ‘khya’ meaning to realize is one of India’s oldest philosophical systems attempting to address the most important and common questions of life itself. Who are we? Where did we come from? Why are we here? Where are we going? Sankhya philosophy is the story of creation it explains the outline of the cosmic principles.


Ayurveda 101 Discover your Dosha

After you enjoy the video please review the PDF document and take a short quiz to ensure you have retained the information.


Purusha Ayurveda

Course Overview

  1. Introduction
  2. History of Ayurveda
  3. Why Ayurveda?
  4. Fundamental Philosophy
  5. The Five Elements
  6. The Elemental Attributes
  7. What is a Dosha?
  8. Understanding the Doshas
  9. Discovering your Prukriti
  10. Balancing the Dosha



  1. Videos
  2. PDF's
  3. Questions
  4. Article Posts
  5. More Courses